skip to Main Content

Practicing Anti-Oppressive Communication

After last year’s successful “Anti-Oppressive Communication for Stage Manager”, many participants asked for a more practical application of the concepts.  While this session is structured to be a continuation of the learning that was started last year, there is no requirement to have attended that session.

With the goal of creating an inclusive workplace through anti-oppressive communication, this session is built upon three case studies.  Participants will receive the case studies prior to the session.  You will be asked to answer three questions about each case study and submit your answers anonymously.

  • How would you approach this situation?
  • What emotions come up for you in reading this case study?
  • What questions do you have about how to respond to the situation?

Session leader, Tenniel Brown, will take these submissions and craft a session that unpacks the emotions, solutions, and themes she finds in the responses.  The goal is to confront the discomfort, dissect the possible outcomes, and build our resiliency and consistency. In the words of Samuel Beckett, “Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.”

WHEN:  Monday, November 22

TIME:  6 p.m. – 8 p.m. EST

WHERE:  On Zoom

PRICE:  $35

In order to ensure the participation from as many voices as possible, we are accepting donations to provide space for those for whom the cost of admission is a barrier.

Transcription and ASL interpretation available upon request.  Please let us know if you have any other accommodation requests.

** This session will not be recorded.  Notes will be taken and will be made available to all those who registered, whether you attend or not.

Category

Instructor

Practicing Anti-Oppressive Communication

Suggested Price: $35.00

99 in stock

Description

Monday, November 22

  • 8:30 – 10:30 p.m. NST
  • 7 – 9 p.m. AST
  • 6 – 8 p.m. EST
  • 5 – 7 p.m. CST
  • 4 – 6 p.m. MST
  • 3 – 5 p.m. PST

Name your price between $35 and $100.  Anything above $35 will go to allow those unable to afford the session to attend for free.

Practicing Anti-Oppressive Communication – Subsidized

$0.00

Description

Monday, November 22

  • 8:30 – 10:30 p.m. NST
  • 7 – 9 p.m. AST
  • 6 – 8 p.m. EST
  • 5 – 7 p.m. CST
  • 4 – 6 p.m. MST
  • 3 – 5 p.m. PST

As subsidized seats become available we will confirm your registration.

Back To Top Skip to content